1. For those who don't know who you are, how would you describe yourself and what you do? Where did you grow up and what is your background?

I guess you could say I'm passionate about bodybuilding. I believe you have to be, to be consistent with your training and diet and especially to put yourself through a competition preparation. I was born and grew up in Perth, Western Australia and I have a Greek/Cypriot background.

2. What do you currently do for work? Are you looking at making a career out of your body-building? If so, in what way and how?

I'm currently an electrical tradesmen and have been in the electrical and building industry for 10 years. I'm now a qualified personal trainer and will being making the jump into the fitness industry in the very near future. I hope to help people achieve their health and fitness goals through my training and nutrition protocols. 

3. How many days per week do you train and what is your workout schedule like?

I train 5-6 days a week, focusing on my weaknesses twice a week and sometimes more, depending on how I feel and my recovery. During competition preparation I also do cardio every day and sometimes multiple sessions if needed.

4. What does your diet mostly consist of? How many meals per day, how many protein shakes per day and what kind of supplements do you take? Do you avoid alcohol completely while training or only on special occasions?

My diet is nothing fancy, standard 'muscle building' meals. Plenty of animal protein, healthy essential fats and carbs from oats, rice and potatoes etc. 6 meals per day and usually just 1 protein shake per day. I'm not a big drinker in general so during a competition preparation I don't drink at all. I don't crave it or anything and I simply feel it does nothing positive for the body or mind.

5. Do you have a cheat day? If so, what do you usually eat? If not, why not?

Cheat days and meals are an individual thing. For me personally I usually have a scheduled 2-3 hours where I eat what I want once a week or fortnight, depending on how I look and feel. I'm more of a savoury guy. Things like sushi, pizza and burgers so just fine.

6. What is your least favourite and most favourite muscle group to work out? And what is your number one favourite exercise? 

Least favourite muscle to train would be abs, no real reason I just find it boring and also feel my core gets a great workout from my heavy compound movements such as squats and deadlifts. Number one favourite exercise would have to be the front squat. I much prefer front squats to back squats and even though it's a hard and sometimes uncomfortable movement, its a very rewarding feeling finishing a tough set. 

7. What does the average day in the life of Nick Loucaides look like?

An average day right now would be rising at 4.30am to do my hour of fasted cardio, work for 8 hours then off to train for about an hour. Sometimes More cardio in the evening and there's plenty of cooking and eating in there too. I aim to be asleep by 9.30 for 7 hours sleep although I would average 6.

8. With the amount of work you do inside the gym and outside the gym, what do you do to relax?

Spending time with my girlfriend, friends and family, watching movies and going to the beach.

9. How do you find the courage to say no when friends ask you go to a birthday, a wedding or a party on the weekend? Or do you still go but stay sober?

I'm very lucky to have understanding friends and family that know that my socializing is very limited during a competition preparation. Social events are very distracting and I simply don't have the energy or patience to stay up late partying. Important events such as weddings I definitely will attend.

10. Who are your mentors and who do you look up to for inspiration? How do you stay motivated? 

Well believe it or not it's the old cliche of Arnold Schwarzenegger. I started researching him when I was younger and was amazed by his relentless drive and determination to succeed in bodybuilding as well as acting and politics. Very inspiring and motivating! There are also many local bodybuilders which I follow and look up to for motivation, getting motivation for other things and people is great but the majority has to come from within yourself.

11. What ís next for you? Where will you be in 5 years time? 

Career wise I plan to be a very well known and established personal trainer in Perth. I feel I have lots of great advice and knowledge to pass on to people and I would love to be the one to get them into the shape of their life. I have 2 state bodybuilding titles but my ultimate goal would be to win a national title. Being the best at something in the country would be an amazing feeling.

Instagram: instagram.com/NIKKOLAIDES

Facebook: facebook.com/nick.loucaides